Living or Dead?

Living or Dead? Find out who's living and who's dead.

Living or Dead? Celebrities, films, tv shows, birthdays, deaths ... your one-stop shop to satisfy your morbid curiosity.

GOOD Music

Cruel Summer

Release Date 14 Sep 2012
Released6 years, 7 months ago

About Cruel Summer

Kanye West Presents Good Music Cruel Summer, commonly referred to as Cruel Summer, is a compilation album by recording artists of American record label GOOD Music, released on September 14, 2012, by the label and Def Jam Recordings. American rapper Kanye West, head of the label, first revealed plans for a label collaborative album in October 2011. The album produced four singles—"Mercy", "Cold", "New God Flow", and "Clique"—that charted on the US Billboard Hot 100. The album features appearances from West himself, along GOOD Music signees Pusha T, Big Sean, Teyana Taylor, Cyhi the Prynce, Kid Cudi, John Legend, Common, D'banj and Malik Yusef, and also features contributions by GOOD Music affiliates 2 Chainz, Jay Z, Travi$ Scott and more. Production on the album was primarily handled by members of GOOD Music's production wing, Very GOOD Beats, including West, Hit-Boy, Hudson Mohawke, Travis Scott and Lifted, among others. Cruel Summer received moderately positive reviews from critics, who found it uneven as an album but commended its hubristic style and the tracks featuring West. It debuted at number two on the US Billboard 200, selling 205,000 copies in its first week. The album also reached the top 10 of charts in Australia, Canada, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom. As of November 4, 2012, Cruel Summer has sold 389,000 copies, according to Nielsen SoundScan.

Extra Info

Genre hip hop
Record label GOOD Music
Follows Watch the Throne
Followed by Yeezus