Living or Dead?

Living or Dead? Find out who's living and who's dead.

Living or Dead? Celebrities, films, tv shows, birthdays, deaths ... your one-stop shop to satisfy your morbid curiosity.

album by DNCE


Release Date 2016
Released2 years (approx) ago
Performer DNCE
DNCE at Soundbox, Bangkok.

About DNCE

DNCE is the self-titled debut studio album by American band DNCE. It was released on November 18, 2016, by Republic Records. Recorded between 2015 and 2016, the album includes three tracks from their debut EP, Swaay (2015). As a "dance-oriented pop" album, DNCE also contains influences of new wave, dance-rock, disco, and alternative pop. Lead singer Joe Jonas co-wrote every track on the standard edition of the album with a variety of collaborators including Ilya Salmanzadeh, Rami Yacoub, Mattman & Robin, Justin Tranter, and Sir Nolan.Upon release, the album was met with generally positive reviews from music critics, who praised Jonas' maturity and the band's mainstream appeal. DNCE debuted in the top 20 on the Billboard 200 but performed only moderately well on the album charts in other countries, earning its highest international peak in Australia at number 32.The album's predecessor, Swaay, produced two hit singles, including "Cake by the Ocean", which reached the top 10 on multiple record charts worldwide and was certified three-times platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA). Both that song and "Toothbrush" are included on DNCE. "Body Moves" was released in September 2016 as the official lead single for the album, but failed to chart on the Billboard Hot 100.

Extra Info