Living or Dead?

Living or Dead? Find out who's living and who's dead.

Living or Dead? Celebrities, films, tv shows, birthdays, deaths ... your one-stop shop to satisfy your morbid curiosity.

compilation album by The Monkees

Missing Links

Release Date 1987
Released33 years (approx) ago
Performer The Monkees
Missing Links
Missing Links
Photo of Davy Jones and Maureen McCormick from the television program The Brady Bunch.

About Missing Links

Missing Links is a compilation album of rare and previously unreleased songs by the Monkees, issued by Rhino Records in 1987. It is the first volume of a three-volume set, followed by Missing Links Volume Two in 1990 and Missing Links Volume Three in 1996. While "Apples, Peaches, Bananas and Pears" and "If You Have the Time" had both been featured in the reruns of their 1960s television series, none of the tracks had ever been issued commercially. "All of Your Toys", written by Bill Martin, was the first Monkees recording to feature all four members performing on the track, and was initially intended to become their third single. A publishing issue prevented the song from being released, with Neil Diamond's "A Little Bit Me, A Little Bit You" chosen instead. Michael Nesmith later re-recorded "Nine Times Blue" for his Magnetic South album and "Carlisle Wheeling" (as "Conversations") for his Loose Salute album. The original 1987 vinyl and cassette releases in the U.S. did not contain tracks 7, 8, 15 and 16. The compact disc was released in the U.S. and U.K. in December 1988.

Extra Info

Record label Rhino Entertainment
Follows Pool It!
Followed by Pool It!