Living or Dead?

Living or Dead? Find out who's living and who's dead.

Living or Dead? Celebrities, films, tv shows, birthdays, deaths ... your one-stop shop to satisfy your morbid curiosity.

1978 Book by Lawrence Durrell


Release Date 1978
Released41 years (approx) ago
Author Lawrence Durrell
SubtitleBuried Alive
Lawrence Durrell's house (near Rhodes casino) from 20 May 1945 to 10 April 1947. The plaque on the side of the house (visible in the photo) provides the name and dates of residence.

About Livia

Livia, or Buried Alive (1978), is the second volume in British author Lawrence Durrell's The Avignon Quintet, published from 1974 to 1985. Durrell has described the novels as "roped together like climbers on a rockface, but all independent . . . a series of books through which the same characters move for all the world as if to illustrate the notion of reincarnation." The first novel of the quincunx, Monsieur, received the James Tait Black Memorial Prize in 1974.