Living or Dead?

Living or Dead? Find out who's living and who's dead.

Living or Dead? Celebrities, films, tv shows, birthdays, deaths ... your one-stop shop to satisfy your morbid curiosity.

book of Siberian folk tales compiled by Pavel Bazhov

The Malachite Box

Release Date 1936
Released84 years (approx) ago
Author Pavel Bazhov
The Malachite Box
The Malachite Box
125th birth anniversary of the Soviet Russian writer Pavel Bazhov (1879–1850). The se-tenant stamps of Russia, 27 January 2004, PTC Marka catalogue No 912–914, Michel No 1144–1146, Scott No 6815a–c. No 912 No 913 No 914 The illustrations for Urals Tales by Pavel Bazhov: The stamp No 912, 2.00 Rubles. The Stone Flower: Danilo-the-Master and Mistress of the Cooper Mountain. The stamp No 913, 4.00 Rubles. The Malachite Casket: Mistress of the Cooper Mountain and Tanyushka. The stamp No 914, 6.00 Rubles. Golden Hair: the hunter Ailyp and his ladylove Golden Hair.

About The Malachite Box

The Malachite Box or The Malachite Casket (Russian: Малахитовая шкатулка, tr. Malakhitovaya Shkatulka; IPA: [mɐləˈxʲitəvɐjə ʂkɐˈtulkə]) is a book of fairy tales and folk tales (also known as skaz) of the Ural region of Siberia compiled by Pavel Bazhov and published from 1936 to 1945. It is written in contemporary language and blends elements of everyday life with fantastic characters. It was awarded the Stalin prize in 1942. Bazhov's stories are based on the oral lore of the miners and gold prospectors. The first edition of The Malachite Box was released on 28 January 1939. It consisted of 14 stories and an introduction, which contained some information about the life, industry and culture of the Urals and which the author tried to include into every edition of the collection. Later versions contained more than 40 stories. Not all stories are equally popular nowadays. The most popular tales were written between 1936 and 1939: "The Mistress of the Copper Mountain" and its continuation "The Malachite Casket", "The Stone Flower" and its continuation "The Master Craftsman", "Silver Hoof", "Cat's Ears", "Sinyushka's Well", "The Manager's Boot-Soles". Among the later stories, "A Fragile Twig" (1940), "The Fire-Fairy" (1940), "Tayutka's Mirror" (1941), "Ivanko Krylatko" (1943), "That Spark of Life" (1943) are popular. The characters of the Ural Mountains folklore such as the Mistress of the Copper Mountain became very well known after their appearance in Pavel Bazhov's The Malachite Box.