Margaret: Living or Dead?

Which cast members of 2011 film by Kenneth Lonergan Margaret have died?

Living or Dead? Celebrities, films, tv shows, birthdays, deaths ... your one-stop shop to satisfy your morbid curiosity.

2011 film by Kenneth Lonergan


Release date 2011
Released9 years (approx) ago
True Blood panel at 2010 Comic-Con International

About Margaret

Margaret is a 2011 drama film written and directed by Kenneth Lonergan. The film stars Anna Paquin, Jean Reno, Matt Damon, Mark Ruffalo, J. Smith-Cameron, Kieran Culkin, Olivia Thirlby, and Rosemarie DeWitt. Margaret originally was scheduled for release in 2007 by Fox Searchlight Pictures, but was repeatedly delayed while Lonergan struggled to create a final cut he was satisfied with, resulting in multiple lawsuits. The litigation ended in 2014. While the studio insisted the film's running time could not exceed 150 minutes, Lonergan's preferred version was closer to three hours. Martin Scorsese and Thelma Schoonmaker contributed to editing a 165-minute version that Lonergan approved; the cut was never completed due to a budget shortage of $500,000. Eventually, Fox Searchlight Pictures released the 150-minute film in a limited release in the United States on September 30, 2011, to moderately positive reviews from critics. Some considered it overlong, but it was praised for its acting and later appeared in several publications' lists of the year's best films. Lonergan completed a three-hour extended version incorporating extra footage with revised score and sound mix, which was released on DVD in July 2012. The film's title is drawn from Gerard Manley Hopkins' poem "Spring and Fall: to a young child", which is discussed in Lisa's English class.